Best Sopas Ever Recipe (aka Luxurious Macaroni Soup/Pangmayaman Sopas)

**IMPORTANT: I am having lighting issues at home so please pardon the quality of my photos that have gone from bad to worse**

I’ve been craving for piping hot sopas (macaroni soup) the past few days and thank goodness my mother was craving for it too so yay! Sopas for lunch today, a very calm and blessed Sunday (the last Sunday of November).

IMG_20151129_121645
I present to everyone the best sopas ever.

Yes, I am claiming it. Do not get me wrong, this is still fairly affordable (costs about P300 if not for the macaroni and evaporated milk I found on our stash) and can feed seven to 10 people.

Ingredients:

Steps:

  1. Bring the chicken soup pack to a boil with carrots, onions, bay leaf, garlic and salt.
  2. Once the chicken is cooked, take it out and bring to room temperature; set aside chicken stock.
  3. When the chicken has cooled, remove the flesh from the bones.
  4. Saute the chopped onion, garlic, carrots, ground beef, chicken strips and cheesedog. The trick is to add a tiny pinch of salt for every layer of ingredient. This intensifies the flavors. Since I love spicy, I added cayenne pepper to my meat base (yum).
  5. Pour one can of evaporated milk to the (approximately) three cups of chicken stock. Bring to a boil.
  6. As soon as the stock boils, pour the “dry ingredients”, simmer for some five minutes.
  7. Add the elbow macaroni. Let it cook.
  8. When the macaroni starts to soften in texture (al dente anyone?) include the cabbage.
  9. Season with salt and pepper.
  10. Finish off with two tablespoons of butter.

Share and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

